CINTAS Foundation Announces Finalists for 2018-2019 Fellowships in Architecture & Design, Music Composition and Visual Arts

Miami, August 2018 – The CINTAS Foundation announces this year’s finalists for the annual CINTAS Fellowship Competition and the recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award. A reception and awards ceremony will take place on Wednesday, October 10th, at the University of Miami’s Lowe Art Museum. An exhibition featuring works by each of the finalists will be on exhibit at the Lowe Art Museum beginning on Wednesday, October 3rd. 

     This year CINTAS will honor Juan A. Martínez, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus in the Department of Art and Art History at Florida International University, with the Lifetime Achievement Award. Professor Martínez is an art historian specializing in European and Cuban Modern Art. He received his Ph.D. as well as his M.A. in Art History from Florida State University and his B.A. in Art History from the University of Florida. He is the author of Cuban Art & National Identity: The Vanguardia Painters, 1927–1950 (Florida, 1994), María Brito (UCLA, 2009), and Carlos Enríquez: The Painter of Cuban Ballads (Cernuda Arte, 2010). Dr. Martínez has also published numerous book chapters and essays in exhibition catalogues. He recently curated the exhibit, Cuban Art & Identity: 1900–1950 at the Vero Beach Museum of Art. He is currently working on a monograph on one of the pioneers of Cuban modern painting, Fidelio Ponce de León (1895–1949).

     While the CINTAS Foundation has never given a Lifetime Achievement Award or Fellowship to someone whose career was spent in academic scholarship, Professor Martínez’ contribution to Cuban culture and the visual arts is exceptional and worthy of the highest honor. Therefore, CINTAS Foundation is delighted to extend this award to him.

CINTAS Foundation Architecture & Design Finalists:

Javier Galindo, Ricardo López, Julia Sarduy

The jury: Robin Osler (Principal at Elmslie Osler Architect), Carie Penabad (Founding Principal of Cure & Penabad and Associate Professor at the University of Miami School of Architecture), Nader Tehrani (Design Principal of NADAAA and Dean of the Cooper Union School of Architechture)

CINTAS Foundation Brandon Fradd Music Composition Finalists:

Louis Franz Aguirre, Armando Bayolo, Sabrina Pena Young

The jury: Jamie Ousley (Assistant Professor, Florida International University), Thomas Sleeper (Director of Orchestral Activities and Conductor, Frost Symphony Orchestra and Opera Theater, and Music Director, Florida Youth Orchestra), Ken Ueno (Music Professor, University of California, Berkeley) 

CINTAS Knight Foundation Visual Arts Finalists:

Nestor Arenas, Javier Castro, Rigoberto Díaz, Tomas Esson, Alan Gutierrez, Aurora Molina, Emilio Perez, Grethell Rasua, Emanuel Ribas, Evelyn Rydz

The jury: Maria Magdalena Campos Pons (Cornelius Vanderbilt Endowed Chair of Fine Arts, Vanderbilt University), Patricia Garcia-Velez Hanna (Art Director, The Related Group), Kathryn Mikesell (Foundress and Executive Director, The Fountainhead Residency), Wanda Texon (Associate Curator, MDC Museum of Art and Design), Ricardo Viera (Professor of Art, Lehigh University and former Director/Curator of the Lehigh University Art Galleries/Museum Operation) 

About the CINTAS Fellowship Program

     The CINTAS Fellowship Program encourages creative development in architecture & design, creative writing, music composition and the visual arts. The CINTAS Foundation was established with funds from the estate of Oscar B. Cintas (1887-1957), former Cuban ambassador to the United States, prominent industrialist, and patron of the arts.

     The Fellowship, marking its 56th year, includes a $20,000 award to carry out the fellows’ projects as submitted. The blue-ribbon juries are comprised of jurors of national and international standing. 

     The prestigious competition has recognized creative accomplishments by Cuban artists in the various artistic movements over the last five decades. It is unique in its depth and breadth due to the artistic significance of a prolific and relevant historic period in the Cuban arts. Winners are invited to become part of the CINTAS Fellows Collection through their artistic donations to the one-of-a-kind ensemble of Cuban art. The CINTAS Fellows Collection is a unique representation of the increasingly important works of its artists and creative movements since 1963. It is also one of the largest bodies of Cuban art outside of Cuba.

About the CINTAS Fellowship Collection

     The CINTAS Fellowship Collection is comprised of nearly 350 pieces by artists of Cuban descent who have received prestigious CINTAS Fellowships awarded since 1963. The Fellows range from Carmen Herrera to Felix Gonzalez-Torres, Maria Martinez-Cañas, Teresita Fernandez, Pulitzer Prize winner Oscar Hijuelos, multiple-Obie winner Maria Elena Fornes, architect Andres Duany, Latin Grammy finalist composer Tania Leon, and many others.

For more information about the CINTAS program, please contact Laurie Escobar, CINTAS Administrator at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.. You may also visit us at

Back to top